Alerty v1.01b

Support forum for the Alerty app.
Post Reply
User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Alerty v1.01b

Post by roobarb! » Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:18 pm


Download:
http://birdslikewires.co.uk/download/al ... b1.ipa.zip

Changes
Improved behaviour of SmartPlug buttons on the Overview screen.
Relay state icon now shows whether a safety is in place or not.
Corrected bug where incorrect system could be shown as selected on the Details screen.

Known Issues
Pressing one button on the Overview screen, then immediately pressing another button may switch a completely different SmartPlug.
Alerty - control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Available on iTunes!

Theolsen
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:02 pm

Re: Alerty v1.01b

Post by Theolsen » Sat Jun 15, 2013 10:39 am

Hi roobarb!

I'd like to see an indication of actual cost - I know that never worked in the official app but it the one thing I wish they'd got right.
Cost prediction for the month to come / so far for the current month / predicted for today etc.

Otherwise I think you've done an amazing job.
Dave.

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Alerty v1.01b

Post by roobarb! » Sun Jun 16, 2013 12:48 am

Theolsen wrote:I'd like to see an indication of actual cost - I know that never worked in the official app but it the one thing I wish they'd got right.
Cost prediction for the month to come / so far for the current month / predicted for today etc.
That data is in the system, so should be reasonably easy to pull out so long as the 'cost per unit' is correct. Problem is, so few people have a proper cost per unit payment schedule, but never mind. I'd likely munge this into the current power usage totals screen, as they were really generated so that Energy Kit-only customers would have at least something to look at. ;)

The 'Sky Display' (as it's weirdly called) does handle all this quite nicely, so yes, this is definitely something to be worked on.
Alerty - control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Available on iTunes!

Theolsen
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:02 pm

Re: Alerty v1.01b

Post by Theolsen » Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:44 pm

That would be perfect.

Yesterday I was testing over 3g and it was largely spot on.

Couple of bugs:

At one point I had poor 3g coverage and got a dialogue that the alertme servers where not responding as quickly as we would like. That was followed by several of the same dialogue within the space of a second or two...each had to be closed individually before I could regain control of the UI.

Switching a smart plug on or off on the overview screen does not always correlate with what is shown on the device screen.


Feature request:

Device screen; Personally I would find it more useful if the location and font characteristics of the battery level and temperature were exchanged. Turning red when my batteries may need attention or signal is lost.

I'd like the option to pick just one device to return its temperature and maybe include that on the overview screen.

That's all I have for you now...I feel like I'm nagging but believe me I'm not...the app is fantastic. I hope this info helps.


Cheers,

Dave.

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Alerty v1.01b

Post by roobarb! » Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:27 pm

Theolsen wrote:That would be perfect.

Yesterday I was testing over 3g and it was largely spot on.

Couple of bugs:

At one point I had poor 3g coverage and got a dialogue that the alertme servers where not responding as quickly as we would like. That was followed by several of the same dialogue within the space of a second or two...each had to be closed individually before I could regain control of the UI.

Switching a smart plug on or off on the overview screen does not always correlate with what is shown on the device screen.
The issue with behaviour over laggy connections (like any 3G) is something that needs improvement, if only not telling you so many times! There are a few fetches that need to be made before a screen update is made, and each of these is given a 15 second timeout. A failure of any one will generate the error, so I need to put some kind of block in there.

The issue with the SmartPlug status is a little trickier... The app 'fakes' the correct setting when you switch, but then will receive an update at the usual interval to get the 'real' state from the API. The API doesn't always know yet that the device has been switched, so that 'real' data can actually be outdated. To confuse matters further, there's a delay within the API itself; some calls will become aware of a change in a device status earlier than others. If you check on the Devices screen, that is often showing the correct information earlier, sometimes up to a minute before the Overview screen! They use different calls, which is the cause.

I've written a new method that uses what appear to be the faster API calls, then uses the processing power of the phone to rebuild the value dictionaries into something more complete, rather than waiting for the API to do it (which may be working on many systems' data input simultaneously). Now I need to change the data model to take the new format... That might have to be in v1.02. ;)

Theolsen wrote:Feature request:

Device screen; Personally I would find it more useful if the location and font characteristics of the battery level and temperature were exchanged. Turning red when my batteries may need attention or signal is lost.

I'd like the option to pick just one device to return its temperature and maybe include that on the overview screen.
Ooh, could you explain that first one a bit more, please? The devices should grey out (but remain touchable) if the signal is lost and the battery level should already display in orange when low and red when very low. Is it not doing this for you? Picking correct values for the batteries to be considered 'dead' is something that might need tweaking, as devices close to the Hub with lower batteries will probably keep working longer than those that are distant.

Temperature stuff... yes, that's something I'm wanting to add to the Overview screen. My eventual plan is to have something similar to the Security and Energy blocks, giving a household average. But how to deal with outdoor sensors...?
Theolsen wrote:That's all I have for you now...I feel like I'm nagging but believe me I'm not...the app is fantastic. I hope this info helps.
Not at all - it's very helpful! Even things I might not get around to for a while are good, because I can have them in the back of my mind while coding some other bit. Hopefully means I don't have to backtrack so often (like that API call change - that's a right faff!). ;)
Alerty - control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Available on iTunes!

Theolsen
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:02 pm

Re: Alerty v1.01b

Post by Theolsen » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:29 am

Ooh, could you explain that first one a bit more, please? The devices should grey out (but remain touchable) if the signal is lost and the battery level should already display in orange when low and red when very low. Is it not doing this for you? Picking correct values for the batteries to be considered 'dead' is something that might need tweaking, as devices close to the Hub with lower batteries will probably keep working longer than those that are distant.
Yeah, sorry I was not too clear. Right now the temperature of the devices is the more visually prominent info. I reckon that the remaining power should be the more prominent. So the positioning should change - charge displayed where the temp is and vice versa.

My charge levels are all pretty good right now so I hadn't noticed any colour change...nice touch though.

Temperature stuff... yes, that's something I'm wanting to add to the Overview screen. My eventual plan is to have something similar to the Security and Energy blocks, giving a household average. But how to deal with outdoor sensors...?
Maybe some of your coding wizardry so that an outside device could be omitted from the average depending on a certain character in its name? - I know you know how to do this :D

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Alerty v1.01b

Post by roobarb! » Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:17 pm

Right, I've been happy with v1.01 for a bit now, so I've uploaded the new version to the App Store. Fixes are pretty much as before:

- Improved behaviour of SmartPlug buttons on the Overview screen.
- Relay state icon now shows whether a safety is in place or not.
- Corrected a bug where the wrong system might be shown as selected on the Details screen.

Also managed to remove the bug introduced when I was fixing the buttons, where pressing one quickly after the other caused a random plug to be switched. There's now only a fraction of a second where this could possibly occur, which should be less than the time it needs for a second press to be recognised.

Finally, also found out that if the app has been bought from the store, downloading and running it on an iOS 7 device works perfectly. There'll be a whole bunch of changes needed for a proper iOS 7 release though. Don't have to worry about that for a while, mind. ;)
Alerty - control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Available on iTunes!

Theolsen
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:02 pm

Re: Alerty v1.01b

Post by Theolsen » Thu Jun 27, 2013 2:04 pm

Hi roobarb.

Another feature request from me!

Is it possible to send a push notification to my idevice if I arm the alarm (via any means) that will tell me if a window or door sensor is in the open position?

I know the alarm itself issues a caution but it would be awesome to follow that up with a push.

Post Reply