Battery Backup Not Working

Using your AlertMe, British Gas Hive, Safe & Secure or Iris system.
Post Reply
MarkR19
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Battery Backup Not Working

Post by MarkR19 » Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:28 pm

Hi, I recently purchased a used Alertme hub (the one with the SIM and battery backup) from eBay. Everything is working fine with the exception of the GPRS and battery backup. If I disconnect the Ethernet cable from the switch, I'm unable to get into the hub via a browser. If I disconnect from the power, the same symptom. Do the backup mechanisms only kick in when a sensor is triggered, or should I be able to get into the system when either of both ISP and power disconnected? Thanks for any advice you may have.

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Battery Backup Not Working

Post by roobarb! » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:26 pm

There's usually a connection delay when switching between broadband and GPRS, as I don't believe that the mobile data connection is maintained permanently (rather, it fires up on demand). I've only noticed it a couple of times, so I don't know how long the switch takes.

As for the battery - do the LEDs stay lit (but dimmed) after unplugging?
Alerty - control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Available on iTunes!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest