Hub constantly goes offline

Using your AlertMe, British Gas Hive, Safe & Secure or Iris system.
Post Reply
mjdonoghue
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 12:24 pm

Hub constantly goes offline

Post by mjdonoghue » Sat Apr 07, 2012 12:28 pm

Hi,

Has anyone had an issue with their hub regularly going offline? When it's reset it stays online for a short period (1 hour maybe) and then goes offline again).

I spoke to Alertme about it and they said try another router. I have tried two different hubs and they both do the same thing.

I'm using it connected to a Vigor Draytek 2830n and port 443 access is available.

Any help would be useful.

phil4
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:27 pm
Location: Oxfordshire
Contact:

Re: Hub constantly goes offline

Post by phil4 » Sun Apr 08, 2012 1:07 pm

I did have a lot of problems with the hub, but not quite as you describe.

For me, if I ever had to reboot the router (Draytek 2820, then Sonicwall TZ210), the hub would stay offline.

The typical scenario was losing my net connection, router rebooted, hub stayed offline (and I didn't notice) for days.

It seems it didn't renew it's DHCP lease/detect when it had regained it's net connection. Rebooting the hub solved, but wasn't always easy to spot.

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Hub constantly goes offline

Post by roobarb! » Fri Apr 13, 2012 11:15 pm

I used to have this problem too, but since the last round of software updates (must be a year ago now) it has been as stable as anything. I'm assuming the help desk has made sure you're up to date?

I also assign a fixed IP to the hub using the MAC association feature in the Vigor 2700 (good routers these Draytek ones, BTW). Don't know if that helps, but worth a shot?
Alerty - control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Available on iTunes!

Artic6
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:27 pm

Hub constantly goes offline

Post by Artic6 » Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:38 pm

Ensure you do not connect your hub directly to the Draytek ports.....my 2820 does not link with the hub.

The unmanaged switch does

User avatar
Madass
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:58 pm
Location: Midlands UK

Re: Hub constantly goes offline

Post by Madass » Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:10 pm

Having the same problem with the Virgin Wireless router they provide, (SuperHub?). Plug it into a Netgear connected off the Virgin no problem. Plug it into the Virgin direct, no go. Can't see why as it obtains an IP address ad you can see the associated MAC addressor the Virgin box in the ARP cache.
Help Desk... no help....

Artic6
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:27 pm

Hub constantly goes offline

Post by Artic6 » Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:56 pm

Yes mate, I think that is due to the low grade network connection the AlertMe uses.....try it in a Netgear switch it'll be fine - AlertMe hub is quite picky

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Hub constantly goes offline

Post by roobarb! » Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:42 pm

They switched to 10mbps a while ago for 'stability reasons', but I've never really had any trouble. Connected directly to the Draytek Vigor 2700.
Alerty - control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Available on iTunes!

robertandrews
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 12:29 pm

Re: Hub constantly goes offline

Post by robertandrews » Wed Jul 25, 2012 12:31 pm

Are you saying AlertMe is flaky with Virgin Media's Superhub?

Frankly, I find that router flaky all by itself. Routinely losing devices.

I'm considering buying AlertMe, but won't if it won't work properly.

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Hub constantly goes offline

Post by roobarb! » Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:04 pm

My Hub has been fine, but then I've only ever connected it to the Draytek and my Netgear switches.
Alerty - control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Available on iTunes!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest