Major problems at AlertMe

Using your AlertMe, British Gas Hive, Safe & Secure or Iris system.
Post Reply
phil4
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:27 pm
Location: Oxfordshire
Contact:

Re: Major problems at AlertMe

Post by phil4 » Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:04 am

Looks like they have the same problem again today, hub emailed at 3:20am saying offline, all internet fine, but can't log in to secure.alertme.com

This is getting a bit troubling for what is fundamentally something they want running your whole house! Not good when for in excess of 3 hours it can't and won't.

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Major problems at AlertMe

Post by roobarb! » Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:28 am

Hate to say it, but I see the same thing. No emails received, but the web login and API appear to be down.
Alerty - you could control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Used to be available on iTunes!

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Major problems at AlertMe

Post by roobarb! » Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:39 am

Okay, API now seems to be back and web login has let me in, but no data on dashboard.
Alerty - you could control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Used to be available on iTunes!

phil4
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:27 pm
Location: Oxfordshire
Contact:

Re: Major problems at AlertMe

Post by phil4 » Sat Jun 23, 2012 10:05 pm

Looks to be down again. Can't log in, just hangs. Same on iphone app.

Logs suggest it started about an hour ago.

Not good, pain in the arse.

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Major problems at AlertMe

Post by roobarb! » Sat Jun 23, 2012 11:32 pm

Confirmed here. API is down, web login is dead. It's really not good enough, if while these systems are off the security side is essentially useless. :(
Alerty - you could control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Used to be available on iTunes!

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Major problems at AlertMe

Post by roobarb! » Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:19 am

...and it's back this morning. I wonder if it's a maintenance task or something running on the server that's killing the login? If it is, they really need to sort it out.
Alerty - you could control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Used to be available on iTunes!

phil4
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:27 pm
Location: Oxfordshire
Contact:

Re: Major problems at AlertMe

Post by phil4 » Sun Jun 24, 2012 11:23 am

Looking at post times etc, looks like it was down for in excess of 2 hours. Regardless of the cause it's pretty much unacceptable.

This isn't ADSL, or the milkman, this is supposed to be either a home security system, or a home automation system. In both cases it needs to be working 100% of the time, otherwise it seriously impacts the ability of both, with consequences.

This clearly isn't a one off, and isn't a "couple of minute" thing. Yet, no apologies.

As you say, it needs sorting.

terry
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:24 pm

Re: Major problems at AlertMe

Post by terry » Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:08 am

Hate to say it but I don't think AlertMe care any more about their customers.

The time on my display has been an hour fast since the clock change and despite me contacting AlertMe a number of times, they're still 'working on a fix' for the issue.

I have to have the timezone on my hub at +1 so the times in the home monitoring are correct, again, they're still 'working on a fix' for that too (they're not connected because the display time doesn't change regardless of the timezone).

Add to that we're still waiting on the new interface for the monitoring which has been on their website almost a year now.

I am guessing they rushed the new monitoring interface for British Gas and then realised that half of the existing functionality wasn't in the new interface. Now they've got the task of adding it all in.

If you look through the pages on the website for the new interface, there's no way to do loads of the things AlertMe can do now, so that looks like the problem to me. Might be wrong though.

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Major problems at AlertMe

Post by roobarb! » Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:13 am

I'd agree - they delivered a great product, realised that they wouldn't make their fortune alone and went chasing funding, utilities and major stores. It seems to be working out for them, but there's no doubt us 'early adopters' (which I saw us referred to as in one of their presentations) have been rather sidelined.

I'm not in the least bothered in a new interface, particularly when it can't do half of what the old one can (and I agree on your reasoning why), but their inability or unwillingness to fix basic issues (clock, downtime) is highly problematic for a system you're supposed to trust. I'll be honest, my faith and trust in them is gone. They'll have to fix some things (not just promise, actually fix them) before they start to win it back. However, while the system works, I'll stick with it and I have no issue with irritating their support staff to death with repeated queries.

Oh, and in another of their presentations I also saw our interface described as 'very old'. Although the rest of the talk was very interesting.

Finally, one thing they should never have done is promise things that they weren't going to deliver. Timer option for the SmartPlugs, anyone? And don't lie to us. If they can't fix the clock issue, they should be honest. And if they won't fix it because we're no longer important to them, then they should be honest about that too.
Alerty - you could control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Used to be available on iTunes!

phil4
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:27 pm
Location: Oxfordshire
Contact:

Re: Major problems at AlertMe

Post by phil4 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:02 am

Look at who's running the show now, ex-bosses of Tiscali, a nice big ISP.

They're never going to worry about individual customers, we'll just be a number (as in "number of existing customers") on a graph and a source of income.

Provided they can sell to new customers and exploit new markets, the only reason they'll get worried is if either a) there is an en-mass uprising and exodus or b) bad press

With the pace of things of late, I wouldn't be surprised if they don't have any dev staff, or very very few at that. Has there been anything new in labs in the past year?

As I said at the start, I think the new management are running this like a large ISP, with expected churn, expected problems, and provided they've growth opportunity, they won't worry about "minor bugs" (in their eyes) or us as individuals.

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Major problems at AlertMe

Post by roobarb! » Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:40 pm

How have people been getting on over the past couple of weeks? I've had the odd 'reappeared' message in the logs, but nothing more problematic than that recently.
Alerty - you could control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Used to be available on iTunes!

phil4
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:27 pm
Location: Oxfordshire
Contact:

Re: Major problems at AlertMe

Post by phil4 » Sat Jul 14, 2012 7:26 pm

Similar to you, last incident I think was Tuesday, hub dissapeared and reappeared later (a few hours as I recall). No internet problems (checked and that was working), so odd, but also not great that the SIM card backup didn't kick in either.

wildcat
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 5:55 pm

Re: Major problems at AlertMe

Post by wildcat » Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:01 pm

Does anyone know the new support phone numbers?

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Major problems at AlertMe

Post by roobarb! » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:55 pm

wildcat wrote:Does anyone know the new support phone numbers?
Didn't know they'd changed.. You could try a quick chat session from your account and ask them if they're not in the usual places.
Alerty - you could control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Used to be available on iTunes!

terry
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:24 pm

Re: Major problems at AlertMe

Post by terry » Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:23 pm

Do the numbers here not work?

https://www.alertme.com/help

They do seem to be making it difficult to find information and buy the kit on the new website.

User avatar
roobarb!
Site Admin
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Major problems at AlertMe

Post by roobarb! » Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:18 am

terry wrote:Do the numbers here not work?

https://www.alertme.com/help

They do seem to be making it difficult to find information and buy the kit on the new website.
Those numbers are fine, so far as I know. Also, the chat feature is always pretty swift - I've used that a lot.

They've added a shop button to the right side of the web page now too.
Alerty - you could control your AlertMe system with my third-party app for iPhone and iPod Touch. Used to be available on iTunes!

Post Reply