System not working at all now... why?

Using your AlertMe, British Gas Hive, Safe & Secure or Iris system.
Post Reply
Mikey99
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:49 pm

System not working at all now... why?

Post by Mikey99 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:31 pm

So, I was fully aware of the closedown of the Alertme servers, but I had assumed that my system of hub, display and electricity cable monitor would at least continue to display my real time electricity usage, but no. As of December 23rd my hub now just flashes purple and the display is indicating that it can’t make contact and just shows dashes with the flashing wireless symbol every so often.
So did the energy display also depend on server contact? I assume the purple flashing on the hub means it can’t contact the servers, which I expected (though sooner than this). Guess I’ll be selling my bits soon as I doubt I’ll be hacking it..

jb5ep
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:47 pm

Re: System not working at all now... why?

Post by jb5ep » Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:55 pm

I made a similar assumption on the S&S system (that devices would still work locally, even without a backend to talk to), but that's apparently not the case!

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2354

Mikey99
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:49 pm

Re: System not working at all now... why?

Post by Mikey99 » Thu Dec 28, 2017 8:28 pm

jb5ep wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:55 pm
I made a similar assumption on the S&S system (that devices would still work locally, even without a backend to talk to), but that's apparently not the case!

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2354
Just read the linked thread and confirmed my assumption unfortunately, thanks for that.
Blast, yet another example of ‘disposable modern technology’ that depends on the support of the manufacturer to function which they then withdraw leaving you with reduced or no function. Apps on smart TVs and DVD players come to mind.

Noisyvoid
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 12:04 pm

Re: System not working at all now... why?

Post by Noisyvoid » Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:52 pm

A couple of us are working on jamesleesaunders OpenSource library to allow a RaspberryPI + Zigbee radio to reuse the Alertme components. We are getting various levels of success (mainly with joining smartplugs).
See https://github.com/jamesleesaunders/PyAlertMe
If you think you can help, or want to try, have a look.
Regards,
James

Mikey99
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:49 pm

Re: System not working at all now... why?

Post by Mikey99 » Sat Dec 30, 2017 5:21 pm

Noisyvoid wrote:
Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:52 pm
A couple of us are working on jamesleesaunders OpenSource library to allow a RaspberryPI + Zigbee radio to reuse the Alertme components. We are getting various levels of success (mainly with joining smartplugs).
See https://github.com/jamesleesaunders/PyAlertMe
If you think you can help, or want to try, have a look.
Regards,
James
Thanks James, a few years ago I’d have had a shot at that , but these days I’ve got so many other things to be getting on with, I know I wouldn’t have the time! I’ll advertise my components in the marketplace..

Post Reply